Devotional: A Healing Gift

Scripture: Mark 1:30-31

Now Simon’s mother-in-law was in bed with a fever, and they told him about her at once. He came and took her by the hand and lifted her up. Then the fever left her, and she began serving them.

Reflection:

My youngest son was born with a congenital heart defect. I spent days, weeks, months praying that God would reach down into my son’s chest and heal his heart. I fully believe he has that capability. It took three years and nine surgeries to get my son to the best he can be. He seems normal by any random persons standards for how a five year old should behave. He talks constantly. Runs and keeps up with his eight year old brothers. I believe that God gave his surgeon and nurses the ability to heal and fix what was wrong with him. This does not mean I do not have my concerns and worries but for now he is where he is supposed to be.

I got to experience God’s healing through those he gave the healing gift. I cannot imagine Jesus reaching out and touching my child and healing him. How humbling it must have been? How much faith must have been had? How much faith and worship must have been accomplished?

It was during this period where I was brought to my lowest. I considered life options that still shock me to this day. However, as we made it to the other side and my child was safe. I turned my life to God. I was called to seminary. I finished my bachelors. I will finish my masters in May and look forward to seeing where this ministry takes me. I happily serve the Lord, not because of what has been done for me but because my life proves God is worth the devotion.

Prayer:

God, you, like no other person before or after, proves yourself over and over again so that your children will remember you. Thank you for your devotion.

Leave a comment